Enter the time machine, set the controls for "The Past",
hit the big red button and travel back to another age.
I warn
you though, you may never want to come back...

The boy in the striped pyjamas
by John Boyne (2006)
The red necklace
by Sally Gardner (2007)
First book in the French Revolution series
The silver donkey
by Sonya Hartnett (2004)

At the sign of the Sugared Plum
by Mary Hooper (2003)
First book in the At the sign of the Sigared Plum series
Goodnight Mister Tom
by Michelle Magorian (1981)

Private Peaceful
by Michael Morpurgo (2003)

Wolf brother
by Michelle Paver (2004)
First book in the Chronicles of ancient darkness series

I am the great horse
by Katherine Roberts (2007)

Becoming Joe DiMaggio
by Maria Testa (2002)

Cue for treason
by Geoffrey Trease (1940)

Wolf Hollow
by Lauren Wolk (2016)

Monkey boy
by Donovan Bixley (2014)

Chocolate cake with Hitler
by Emma Craigie (2010)

The seeing stone
by Kevin Crossley-Holland (2001)
First book in the Arthur series

Mare's war
by Tanita S. Davis (2009)
Coram boy
by Jamila Gavin (2000)

by Adèle Geras (2000)

The girl is murder
by Kathryn Miller Haines (2011)
First book in the Iris Anderson series

The falconer's knot
by Mary Hoffman (2007)

Forest of bones
by David Kennett (2014)

Never fall down
by Patricia McCormick (2012)

Mary, bloody Mary
by Carolyn Meyer (1999)
First book in the Young royals series
Bloody Jack
by L.A. Meyer (2002)
First book in the Bloody Jack adventures series

The ruby in the smoke
by Philip Pullman (1985)
First book in the Sally Lockhart series

Here lies Arthur
by Philip Reeve (2004)

The dark horse
The dark horse
by Marcus Sedgwick (2002)

by Jerry Spinelli (2003)

The eagle of the ninth
by Rosemary Sutcliff (1954)
First book in the Eagle of the ninth series
by Robert Westall (1989)
by Linda Press Wulf (2011)
The devil's arithmetic
by Jane Yolen (1988)
The wrong boy
by Suzy Zail (2012)

Lord of the nutcrackermen
by Iain Lawrence (2001)

The great death
by John Smelcer (2009)