They're not all fluffy, furry or bright-eyed, but their tales
are fabulous. I'm still waiting for great reads that feature
a kindly weasel, a dastardly turtle or a heroic slug though.


The one and only Ivan
by Katherine Applegate (2012)
by William H. Armstrong (1969)
Fire, bed and bone
by Henrietta Branford (1997)

by Zizou Corder (2003)
First book in the Lion boy series

Love that dog
by Sharon Creech (2001)
First book in the Love that dog series

Because of Winn-Dixie
by Kate DiCamillo (2000)
The snow goose
by Paul Gallico (1940)
The silver donkey
by Sonya Hartnett (2004)
by Brian Jacques (1986)
First book in the Redwall series

The call of the wild
by Jack London (1900)

War horse
by Michael Morpurgo (1982)
First book in the Warhorse series

I am the great horse
by Katherine Roberts (2007)

Storm boy
by Colin Thiele (1963)

The murderer's ape
by Jakob Wegelius (2014)

Just a dog
by Gerard Michael Bauer (2010)

The wild robot
by Peter Brown (2016)
First book in the The wild robot series

The midnight fox
by Betsy Byars (1968)

Red dog
by Louis de Bernieres (2001)

My family and other animals
by Gerald Durrell (1956)
First book in the Corfu trilogy series

Old Yeller
by William Gipson (1956)
First book in the Old Yeller series

The girl who rode the wind
by Stacy Gregg (2015)

When friendship followed me home
by Paul Griffin (2016)

If only they could talk
by James Herriot (1970)
First book in the All creatures great and small series
Sky hawk
by Gill Lewis (2011)
An elephant in the garden
by Michael Morpurgo (2010)
Born to run
by Michael Morpurgo (2007)
by Michael Morpurgo (2010)
The amazing story of Adolphus Tips
by Michael Morpurgo (2005)
by Daniel Pennac (1982)

The dogs of winter
by Bobbie Pyron (2012)
Black Beauty
by Anna Sewell (1877)
The last wild
by Piers Torday (2013)
First book in the Last wild series

Pigeon summer
by Ann Turnbull (1992)

A dog called Homeless
by Sarah Lean (2012)

Kaspar prince of cats
by Michael Morpurgo (2008)

Varjak Paw
by S.F. Said (2003)
First book in the Varjak Paw series

Charlotte and the starlet
by Dave Warner (2007)
First book in the Charlotte and the starlet series