Ah the lure of a mystery, the fascination with the unknown
and the adrenalin rush of discovering the truth regardless
of the risk. Danger?? What danger?!

The invention of Hugo Cabret
by Brian Selznick (2007)

The murderer's ape
by Jakob Wegelius (2014)

Gilda Joyce - Investigator
by Jennifer Allison (2005)
First book in the Gilda Joyce series

Black cats and butlers
by Janine Beacham (2017)
First book in the Rose Raventhorpe investigates series

The curse of the blue figurine
by John Bellairs (1983)
First book in the Johnny Dixon series
The demon headmaster
by Gillian Cross (1982)
First book in the Demon headmaster series

Small change for Stuart
by Lissa Evans (2011)
First book in the Stuart series

by Cornelia Funke (2003)
First book in the Inkheart series

Dear Scarlett
by Fleur Hitchcock (2013)

The Thornthwaite inheritance
by Gareth P. Jones (2009)
First book in the Thornthwaite series
From the mixed-up files of Mrs Basil E. Frankweiler
by E.L. Konigsburg (1967)

by Gabrielle Lord (2009)
First book in the Conspiracy 365 series

The glass children
by Kristina Ohlsson (2013)

The impossible clue
by Sarah Rubin (2016)
First book in the Alice Jones series

The Blackthorn key
by Kevin Sands (2015)
First book in The Blackthorn key series

Open for business
by Moya Simons (2008)
First book in the Walk Right In Detective Agency series

Liar and spy
by Rebecca Stead (2012)

Murder most unladylike
by Robin Stevens (2014)
First book in the Wells and Wong mystery series
Marianne dreams Marianne dreams
by Catherine Storr (1958)
First book in the Marianne series

The last wild
by Piers Torday (2013)
First book in the Last wild series

Three times lucky
by Sheila Turnage (2012)
First book in the Mo LoBeau series

Sammy Keyes and the hotel thief
by Wendelin Van Draanen (1998)
First book in the Sammy Keyes series

The clockwork sparrow
by Katherine Woodfine (2015)
First book in The Sinclair's mysteries series

Five on a treasure island
by Enid Blyton (1942)
First book in the Famous five series

The truth about Verity Sparks
by Susan Green (2011)
First book in the Truth about Verity Sparks series

Saving Sophia
by Fleur Hitchcock (2014)

45 + 47 Stella Street and everything that happened
by Elizabeth Honey (1995)

The curse of the poltergoose
by Michael Lawrence (1999)
First book in the Jiggy McCue series

by Katherine Rundell (2013)

by Brian Selznick (2011)

The Egypt game
by Zilpha Keatley Snyder (1967)
First book in the Game series

The silver spoon of Solomon Snow
by Kaye Umansky (2004)
First book in the Solomon Snow series