Enter the time machine, set the controls for "The Past",
hit the big red button and travel back to another age.
I warn
you though, you may never want to come back...

The wolves of Willoughby Chase
by Joan Aiken (1962)
First book in the Wolves of Willoughby Chase series

Dovey Coe
by Frances O'Roark Dowell (2002)

War game
by Michael Foreman (1989)

Sarah, plain and tall
by Patricia MacLachlan (1985)
First book in the Sarah, plain and tall series

War horse
by Michael Morpurgo (1982)
First book in the Warhorse series

A long way from Chicago
by Richard Peck (1998)
First book in the Grandma Dowdel series

 Esperanza rising
by Pam 
Muņoz Ryan (2000)

A drowned maiden's hair
by Laura Amy Schlitz (2006)

The invention of Hugo Cabret
by Brian Selznick (2007)

The silver sword
by Ian Serraillier (1956)

Roll of thunder, hear my cry
by Mildred D. Taylor (1976)
Second book in the Logan family saga series
Can be read & loved without having read the previous book in this series

Becoming Joe DiMaggio
by Maria Testa (2002)

Little house in the big woods
by Laura Ingalls Wilder (1932)
First book in the Little house series

The war that saved my life
by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley (2015)
by Theresa Breslin (1993)
First book in the Kezzie series

Meet Rose
by Sherryl Clark (2011)
First book in the Our Australian girl - Rose series

The house of sixty fathers
by Meindert DeJong (1956)

Lily's crossing
Patricia Reilly Giff (1997)
First book in the Lily's crossing series
Old Yeller
by William Gipson (1956)
First book in the Old Yeller series

The amazing story of Adolphus Tips
by Michael Morpurgo (2005)

The Blackthorn key
by Kevin Sands (2015)
First book in The Blackthorn key series

Murder most unladylike
by Robin Stevens (2014)
First book in the Wells and Wong mystery series

Pigeon summer
by Ann Turnbull (1992)

Starring Sally J. Freedman as herself
by Judy Blume (1977)

The truth about Verity Sparks
by Susan Green (2011)
First book in the Truth about Verity Sparks series

Kaspar prince of cats
by Michael Morpurgo (2008)

The silver spoon of Solomon Snow
by Kaye Umansky (2004)
First book in the Solomon Snow series