The clock is ticking, the president is on the phone and
the bomb will detonate any moment. I'm nervous and
edgy, and I'm not even the one saving the world.


by Zizou Corder (2003)
First book in the Lion boy series

Tomorrow, when the war began
by John Marsden (1993)
First book in the Tomorrow series

The recruit
by Robert Muchamore (2004)
First book in the CHERUB series

The amulet of Samarkand
by Jonathan Stroud (2003)
First book in the Bartimaeus series

Cue for treason
by Geoffrey Trease (1940)

Jimmy Coates: Killer
by Joe Craig (2005)
First book in the Jimmy Coates series
by Leon Garfield (1967)
by Anthony Horowitz (2000)
First book in the Alex Rider series
Skulduggery Pleasant
by Derek Landy (2007)
First book in the Skulduggery Pleasant series

by Gabrielle Lord (2009)
First book in the Conspiracy 365 series

The apothecary
by Maile Meloy (2011)
First book in the Apothecary series
by Andy Mulligan (2010)

The Blackthorn key
by Kevin Sands (2015)
First book in The Blackthorn key series


The set-up
by Sophie McKenzie (2009)
First book in the Medusa project series
The billionaire's curse
by Richard Newsome (2009)
First book in the Billionaire series

by James Phelan (2013)
First book in The last thirteen series
Percy Jackson and the lightning thief
by Rick Riordan (2005)
First book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series