The clock is ticking, the president is on the phone and
the bomb will detonate any moment. I'm nervous and
edgy, and I'm not even the one saving the world.

The wolves of Willoughby Chase
by Joan Aiken (1962)
First book in the Wolves of Willoughby Chase series
Over sea, under stone
by Susan Cooper (1965)
First book in the Dark is rising series
by Zizou Corder (2003)
First book in the Lion boy series

The amulet of Samarkand
by Jonathan Stroud (2003)
First book in the Bartimaeus series

Cue for treason
by Geoffrey Trease (1940)

Jimmy Coates: Killer
by Joe Craig (2005)
First book in the Jimmy Coates series
by Leon Garfield (1967)

   Spy school
by Stuart Gibbs (2012)
First book in the Spy school series

by Gabrielle Lord (2009)
First book in the Conspiracy 365 series

The apothecary
by Maile Meloy (2011)
First book in the Apothecary series

The Blackthorn key
by Kevin Sands (2015)
First book in The Blackthorn key series

The mysterious Benedict Society
by Trenton Lee Stewart (2007)
First book in the Mysterious Benedict Society series

The 1,000-year-old boy
by Ross Welford (2018)

The billionaire's curse
by Richard Newsome (2009)
First book in the Billionaire series

by James Phelan (2013)
First book in The last thirteen series

Percy Jackson and the lightning thief
by Rick Riordan (2005)
First book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series