Ah the lure of a mystery, the fascination with the unknown
and the adrenalin rush of discovering the truth regardless
of the risk. Danger?? What danger?!

Over sea, under stone
by Susan Cooper (1965)
First book in the Dark is rising series

Midnight for Charlie Bone
by Jenny Nimmo (2002)
First book in the Children of the Red King series
by Louis Sachar (1998)
First book in the Holes series

The invention of Hugo Cabret
by Brian Selznick (2007)

The murderer's ape
by Jakob Wegelius (2014)

Black cats and butlers
by Janine Beacham (2017)
First book in the Rose Raventhorpe investigates series

The curse of the blue figurine
by John Bellairs (1983)
First book in the Johnny Dixon series
The chicken dance
by Jacques Couvillon (2007)

Jimmy Coates: Killer
by Joe Craig (2005)
First book in the Jimmy Coates series
The London Eye mystery
by Siobhan Dowd (2007)
Small change for Stuart
by Lissa Evans (2011)
First book in the Stuart series

by Cornelia Funke (2003)
First book in the Inkheart series
by Leon Garfield (1967)

Dear Scarlett
by Fleur Hitchcock (2013)

The Thornthwaite inheritance
by Gareth P. Jones (2009)
First book in the Thornthwaite series
Mondays are murder
by Tanya Landman (2009)
First book in the Poppy Fields mystery series
The thieves of Ostia
by Caroline Lawrence (2001)
First book in the Roman mysteries series

by Gabrielle Lord (2009)
First book in the Conspiracy 365 series

The apothecary
by Maile Meloy (2011)
First book in the Apothecary series

The glass children
by Kristina Ohlsson (2013)
I was a rat!
by Philip Pullman (1999)

The impossible clue
by Sarah Rubin (2016)
First book in the Alice Jones series

The Blackthorn key
by Kevin Sands (2015)
First book in The Blackthorn key series

by Kim Slater (2014)

Liar and spy
by Rebecca Stead (2012)
The mysterious Benedict Society
by Trenton Lee Stewart (2007)
First book in the Mysterious Benedict Society series
The last wild
by Piers Torday (2013)
First book in the Last wild series

Three times lucky
by Sheila Turnage (2012)
First book in the Mo LoBeau series

The clockwork sparrow
by Katherine Woodfine (2015)
First book in The Sinclair's mysteries series

Chasing Vermeer
by Blue Balliett (2004)
First book in the Chasing Vermeer series

Number 8
by Anna Fienberg (2006)

Pure dead magic
by Debi Gliori (2001)
First book in the Pure dead series

The billionaire's curse
by Richard Newsome (2009)
First book in the Billionaire series

by James Phelan (2013)
First book in The last thirteen series

by Katherine Rundell (2013)

by Brian Selznick (2011)

The Egypt game
by Zilpha Keatley Snyder (1967)
First book in the Game series

Dead Man's Cove
by Lauren St John (2010)
First book in the Laura Marlin mysteries series

The silver spoon of Solomon Snow
by Kaye Umansky (2004)
First book in the Solomon Snow series